Jean-Claude BAUDOT

06.15.87.07.05 / baudotjc@yahoo.fr

Jean-Claude BAUDOT  

12 passage Bourgoin 75013 Paris, France

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Gris Cercle

The project

« Remonter du Modèle à la Matrice ! […] L’Art ne reproduit pas le visible ; il rend visible. »
Paul Klee (Théorie de l’Art Moderne)

The project : to create an international and dynamic museum of Copy Art.

Why ? Because, in art, copying is not copying.

The Copy Art

 

The artist creates a work with the photocopier, just like a photographer would use a camera, a filmmaker using camera, or painter using brushes.

Copy Art? It is the antithesis of photocopying. Roughly speaking, it is the misuse of a photocopier by artists to generate a unique work of art. Yes, it’s unique!

Fast, cheap, accessible, instantaneous, democratic, more or less random, the photocopy of art (Copy Art) caused a revolution that gave birth to a new artistic movement. Adored by the FLUXUS network since 1963, he infiltrated the Avant Garde, exploding with a protesting creativity, joyful and immensely talented in the 80s-90s and bounced back into the digital world.

A brief historical flashback: the American Chester Carlson made his first "electrophotography" in 1938 and filed his patent in 1942. The first photocopier was industrialized in 1958.

 

Museum fund

Concrete and historical opportunity, the museum fund exists thanks to an exceptional collection collected by Jean-Claude Baudot (1). In 1978, thanks to the advice of Christian Rigal, undisputed theorist of this artistic expression, Jean-Claude began to acquire a selection of major and representative works by more than 400 artists in the world.

To date the collection has 1600 works, from the 60s to the early 90s.
 

He exhibited a part of it in Rio de Janeiro in 2018, as part of the celebration of the 80th anniversary of the invention of the photocopier. This commemoration, which he initiated and developed, brought together more than 20 events in 7 countries.

Proof that Copy Art is in great shape!
 

Made into a major documentary, Jean-Claude Baudot managed to find in 1986, the original first copier invented by James Watt in February 1780 (patent n ° 1244).

For the first time in the world, he made it available to one hundred artists to create a work of art in front of the press and personalities from the world of art and culture. This exceptional performance was held on November 6, 2018 in Paris at the Musée des Arts Forains.

Educational, medical and social applications:

 

Copy Art is perfectly adapted to elaborate a participative and creative museography. In the museum space, the practical use of photocopiers, assembly workshops and adaptations of typewriters, workshops of expressive achievements, accessible to the general public, the school public, disadvantaged groups, disabled audiences , allows the development of the imagination, the therapeutic developments and engages the social interaction. A museum open to experimentation constantly enriching its background and develops a international influence.

The creation of an open museum specific to Copy Art or Copy Art department integrated in a Museum of Contemporary Art or Contemporary Cultures, could initiate the perspective of a museum of creative education.



Michel Dray

 

(1) Jean-Claude Baudot

Collector, museologist, founder of the Las Vegas Museum, with BNP Paribas, in the district of the Clock in Paris (1982-1984), the Municipal Museum of Santa Claus in Canet-en-Roussillon (1986), the future Museum of the Slot Machine in Berlin, by Gauselmann (2014).

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Jean-Claude BAUDOT

06.15.87.07.05 / baudotjc@yahoo.fr

Jean-Claude BAUDOT  

12 passage Bourgoin Paris, France

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Gris Cercle

Le projet

« Remonter du Modèle à la Matrice ! […] L’Art ne reproduit pas le visible ; il rend visible. »
Paul Klee (Théorie de l’Art Moderne)

Le projet est précis : créer un musée international et dynamique du Copy Art.
Pourquoi ? Parce que, en art, copier n’est pas copier.

Le Copy Art

 

L’artiste crée un œuvre avec l’assistance d’un photocopieur, comme le photographe s’assiste d’un appareil photographique, le cinéaste d’une caméra, le peintre de pinceaux.
Le Copy Art ? c’est l’antithèse de la photocopie. Grosso modo, l’utilisation détournée d’un photocopieur par les artistes pour générer des œuvres d’art uniques. Oui, unique !
Rapide, bon marché, accessible, instantanée, démocratique, plus ou moins aléatoire, la photocopie d’art (Copy Art) provoque une Révolution qui accouche d’un mouvement artistique nouveau. Adoubé par le réseau FLUXUS dès 1963, il infiltre l’Avant Garde, explose d’une créativité contestataire, joyeuse et immensément talentueuse dans les années 80-90 et rebondit dans le numérique.

Petit flash-back historique : l’américain Chester Carlson réalise sa première « éléctrophotographie » en 1938 et dépose son brevet en 1942. Le premier photocopieur est industrialisé en 1958.

Le fonds muséal

Opportunité concrète et historique, le fonds muséal existe grâce à une exceptionnelle collection rassemblée par Jean-Claude Baudot (1). Dès 1978, sur les conseils très avisés de Christian Rigal, théoricien incontesté de cette expression artistique, il a commencé à acquérir une sélection d’œuvres majeures et représentatives réalisées par plus de 400 artistes dans le monde.

A ce jour la collection compte 1600 œuvres, des années 60 au début des années 90.
Il en a exposé une partie à Rio de Janeiro en 2018, dans le cadre de la célébration du 80ème anniversaire de l’invention du photocopieur. Cette commémoration qu’il a initiée et développée, regroupe plus de 20 manifestations dans 7 pays.
Preuve que le Copy Art est en pleine forme !

Fait documentaire majeur, Jean-Claude Baudot a réussi à retrouver en 1986, l’original du premier copieur au monde inventé par James Watt en février 1780 (brevet n°1244).
Pour la première fois au monde il l’a mis à disposition de cent artistes pour créer une œuvre d’art devant la presse et des personnalités du monde de l’art et de la culture. Cette performance exceptionnelle s’est tenue le 6 novembre 2018 à Paris au musée des Arts Forains.

 

Les applications éducatives, médicales et sociales :

 

Le Copy Art est parfaitement adapté pour élaborer une muséographie participative et créative. Dans l’espace muséal, l’usage pratique des photocopieurs, d’ateliers de montages et d’adaptations de machines à écrire, d’ateliers de réalisations expressives, accessibles au grand public, au public scolaire, aux publics défavorisés, aux publics handicapés, permet le développement de l’imagination, les développements thérapeutiques et engage l’intéraction sociale. Un musée ouvert sur l’expérimentation enrichit en permanence son fond et développe son rayonnement international.
La création d’un musée ouvert spécifique au Copy Art ou département Copy Art intégré dans un Musée d’Art Contemporain ou de Cultures Contemporaines, pourrait initier la perspective d’une muséographie d’éducation créative.

Michel Dray

 

(1) Jean-Claude Baudot

Collectionneur, muséologue, fondateur du Las Vegas Museum, avec BNP Paribas, dans le quartier de l’Horloge à Paris (1982-1984), du Musée municipal du Père Noël à Canet-en-Roussillon (1986), du futur Musée de la Machine à Sous à Berlin, par Gauselmann (2014).

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now