Jean-Claude BAUDOT

06.15.87.07.05 / baudotjc@yahoo.fr

Jean-Claude BAUDOT  

12 passage Bourgoin 75013 Paris, France

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Gris Cercle

Jean-Claude Baudot is French. He was born in 1934. A father, grandfather, bibliophile, doctor, numismatist and philatelist. In short, Jean-Claude Baudot is genetically a  collector. In the early 70's, he was already introduced to avant-garde art by two great collectors, Roland de Montaigu and René Ullmann. Psychedelism, arte povera, futurism, new realism, geometric abstraction, conceptual art ...

 

In 1980, the great French theorist of Copy Art, Christian RIGAL, offered him his book: The COPY ART (Edition Transform), with a dedication "why not your next collection?" Jean-Claude Baudot, who has already been

interested for two years to avant-garde postcards, (there are more than 20 000), accepted the challenge.

 

His fascination of THE PHOTOCOPIER, this new medium of creation, led the artists to hijack its original function of "copy". Their idea was to CREATE original and unique works. He visited the pioneering exhibition at the Pompidou Center in Paris from June 26 to September 30, 1980. He discovered the works of Pati HILL, an American artist living in Paris. He also discovered CEJAR (pseudonym of Christian RIGAL), Sol LEWITT and the minimalists, Gil WOLMAN and his "portraits of pockets", HUDINILSON Jr. and his erotico-corporal works ...

He was subjugated by the paradox of the photocopier. "Art Machina". A machine even faster than the camera, which had allowed, a few decades earlier, the blossoming of PHOTOGRAPHY, elevated to the rank of ART.

 

COPY ART, also known as XEROX ART, is instant, easy, fun, accessible, simple or complex, elaborate or unpredictable.

 

For art it's a revolution. Jean-Claude Baudot is dedicated to this emerging artistic movement. He collects and archives works, one by one, methodically. Objective: to create a museum. It brings together one of the most important private collections in the world. Perhaps the most important...1600 works, often major, sometimes masterpieces, by more than 400 artists.

 

In  2018, he had the idea to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the invention of the photocopier (1938). Many exhibitions and events are already scheduled in the USA, Canada, France, Italy, Germany, Spain etc .... "I chose Rio de Janeiro, he says, with the complicity of Alexandre Murucci, to present a selection of my best pieces 200 works by more than 100 artists This is the first time I exhibit my collection Thank you RIO and the Art Center Hélio Oiticica ".

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Jean-Claude BAUDOT

06.15.87.07.05 / baudotjc@yahoo.fr

Jean-Claude BAUDOT  

12 passage Bourgoin Paris, France

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Gris Cercle

Jean-Claude Baudot est français. Né en 1934. Grand-père bibliophile. Père médecin, numismate et philatéliste. Bref, Jean-Claude Baudot est un collectionneur génétique. Au début des années 70, il a déjà été initié à l'art d'avant-garde par deux grands collectionneurs, Roland de Montaigu et René Ullmann. Psychédélisme, arte povera, futurisme, nouveau réalisme, abstraction géométrique, art conceptuel...

En 1980 le grand théoricien français du Copy Art, Christian RIGAL, lui offre son livre : Le COPY ART (Edition Transform), avec une dédicace "pourquoi pas votre prochaine collection ? " Jean-Claude Baudot, qui

s'intéresse déjà depuis deux ans aux cartes postales d'avant-garde, (il en a plus de 20 000), accepte le challenge.

Fascination pour LE PHOTOCOPIEUR, ce nouveau médium de création. Les artistes détournent sa fonction initiale de "copie". Ils ont l'idée de l'utiliser pour CRÉER des œuvres originales et uniques. Il visite l'exposition pionnière installée au Centre Pompidou à Paris du 26 Juin au 30 Septembre 1980. Il découvre les œuvres de Pati HILL, artiste américaine qui vit à Paris. Puis de CEJAR (pseudonyme de Christian RIGAL), Sol LEWITT et les minimalistes, Gil WOLMAN et ses "portraits de poches", HUDINILSON Jr et ses travaux érotico-corporels...
Il est subjugué par le paradoxe du photocopieur. "Art Machina". Une machine encore plus rapide que l'appareil photo, qui avait permis, quelques décennies plus tôt, l'éclosion de LA PHOTOGRAPHIE, élevée au rang d'ART.


Le COPY ART, dit aussi XEROX ART, est instantané, facile, ludique, accessible, simple ou complexe, élaboré ou imprévisible.


Pour l'art c'est une révolution. Jean-Claude Baudot se consacre à ce mouvement artistique naissant. Il collecte des œuvres, une à une, méthodiquement. Et aussi des archives. Objectif : créer un musée. Il réunit l'une des collections privées les plus importantes au monde. Peut- être la plus importante... 1600 œuvres, souvent majeures, parfois des chefs-d'œuvre, par plus de 400 artistes.

Pour cette année 2018, il a l'idée de commémorer le 80ème anniversaire de l'invention du photocopieur (1938). De nombreuses expositions et manifestations sont déjà programmées aux USA, Canada, France, Italie, Allemagne, Espagne etc.... "J'ai choisi Rio de Janeiro, dit-il, avec la complicité d'Alexandre Murucci, pour présenter une sélection de mes meilleures pièces. 200 œuvres de plus de 100 artistes. C'est la première fois que j'expose ma collection. Merci RIO et le Centre d'art Hélio Oiticica".

Alexandre Murucci

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now